The Current DP System is Flawed

I’ve been playing Omega constantly since December of 2020. I appreciate the amount of effort the devs have put into this since then. However, the most glaring problem about Omega at the time was rarities, and it is still the biggest issue. Omega has a weird outlook on the currency for the rarities by making them neither f2p- or donator-friendly. Instead, you have to grind for hours every day for a chance at a couple DP in ranked and then do some tournaments for slightly more DP. (The ongoing tier 0 format really doesn’t help here but that’s out of their control.) Staff also have maximum rarity slots, which means it is more realistic for you to become Omega staff to get max rarity slots than playing Omega.

So, for the new rarities… the attribute rarities look nice, but they’re either locked behind a battle pass for $8 per month or you have to get one for 750 DP. Not going to get into why temporarily having rarities that get removed every month is weird. 750 DP is an insane amount to currently obtain in Omega. For the past few weeks, I’ve been doing a lot of the TCG and OCG tournaments with some friends. We do alright in the TCG brackets but top in the OCG ones since they’re at 1 am and no one’s on. On average, it’s about 5-10 DP per tournament. That means it’s 75 tournaments to get one of the new rarities if I do well, and each of these tournaments lasts several hours (let’s say 3 to be optimistic). That’s 225 hours to get a single rarity on 3 copies of a card. A lot of people never even play a game for that long. One of my friends who plays in a lot of the tournaments that I do only has 13 DP. Imagine how long that would take to get a single rarity at the current rate.

Sleeve rarities (besides maybe the lower end ones) aren’t realistic in an average human lifespan. That’s all I’m going to say about that. Especially attributes for 7,500.