Elemental HERO Flame Wingman - Infernal Rage & Effect Veiler interaction

  1. Bug description
    Flame Wingman IR was negated by Effect Veiler, which only negates while face-up on the field. Flame Wingman IR, in a new chain after Veiler resolved, attempts to use its second effect to special summon an E-HERO from the Extra Deck, Tributing itself as cost, however the effect was still negated because of Veiler, even though Flame Wingman IR was not on-field upon resolution

I’m not sure if an effect similar to Effect Veiler, such as Infinite Impermanence, produces the same issue, as I have not yet witnessed the interaction.

  1. Bug reproduction steps

A. Activate effect of Effect Veiler and target Elemental HERO Flame Wingman - Infernal Rage.

B. While being negated on-field by Effect Veiler, activate the second effect of Flame Wingman - Infernal Rage (this requires that Flame Wingman IR was summoned using a Normal Monster as Fusion material and a lv.7 or lower “Elemental HERO” monster is in the Extra Deck) and Flame Wingman IR will tribute itself as cost, meaning it is no longer on-field.

C. The effect should resolve successfully, but it does not.

  1. Screenshot OR error code

  2. Expected behavior
    The effect of Flame Wingman IR should have resolved, as it was not on field upon resolution, therefore should not be under the negation of Effect Veiler at this point.

  3. What OS are you using
    Windows 10


Thank you for making a bug report. As described, this interaction is working as intended.

You are attempting to apply the logic of Skill drain vs cards that Tribute for cost compared to cards that negate a card while it is on the field.

Skill drain is a card that has its effect applied continuously, this means that as long as a card is on the field and face-up, it is affected by skill drain. If a monster tributes itself for cost, it is not face-up on the field for Skill drain to apply its effect to.

This is different from targeted negation. A card that applies its negation to a target will negate that card’s effects whether or not it is on the field during the resolution of its own effects. The “face-up” portion only means that it must be face-up, on the field at the point of the targeted negation card resolves, and that it won’t negate any card effects that activate in the graveyard. Card resolve their effects where they are activate. So once the effect veiler has applied its negation, even if the Flame Wingman IR tributes itself for cost, its effect is still activating and resolving on the field. Because of this, it resolves negated since effect veiler successfully applied its negation.

If you have any further questions about this, you can look into rulings such as Effect Veiler vs Rescue Cat, a much older ruling but applies the same way.

You can also ask for an explaination in the Duelist Unite Discord Server’s #rulings channel for judges to explain this to you if you wish for a second ruling.

Once again, Thank you for helping to make YGO Omega be the best it can be.

This thread will close in 24 hours after the last post.

1 Like

Ahhh yeah you’re correct, my bad, thanks for the clarification :slight_smile:

This topic was automatically closed 24 hours after the last reply. New replies are no longer allowed.